[For news on NWT Mint, see http://about.ag/NWTMint.htm]
[For research on bullion dealers, see http://BullionDealerData.com]

Forum

Author   Comment   Page 2 of 2      Prev   1   2
PM

Reply with quote  #16 
My (criminal) loss amount is 30% less than the actual amount of loss.
The price of metal purchased didn't go down that much.
gvag

Reply with quote  #17 
Hello, 
   I didn't claim the capital loss from bankruptcy till now. No that I have the reimbursements from the proceedings, can I  file for capital loss this year even though the BD went bankrupt in 2015? 

tboll

Reply with quote  #18 
I'm also NO tax professional but I do see why the DOJ would write off your amount as $25K (based on the value at bankruptcy versus the cost when you purchased).  I wonder if to be technically most correct you would claim the $14K as a capital loss (this was depreciation in the spot price of gold from the time you purchased to the date of bankruptcy) and remaining $25K as theft.   
JG

Administrator
Reply with quote  #19 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gvag
Hello, 
   I didn't claim the capital loss from bankruptcy till now. No that I have the reimbursements from the proceedings, can I  file for capital loss this year even though the BD went bankrupt in 2015? 

I've got some information at http://about.ag/BullionDirectTax.htm .

Assuming you haven't taken any part of the loss in previous years, you should be able to deduct it as a capital loss for the 2019 tax year.